

## City of Coppell, Texas

255 E. Parkway Boulevard Coppell, Texas 75019-9478

## **Minutes**

## **Library Board**

Thursday, February 13, 2025 7:00 PM 255 E. Parkway Blvd.

## 2nd Floor Conference Room

Martha Garber Anne Diamond
Board Member Board Member

Frank Gasparro Carla Madrigal Board Member Board Member

Seth L. Phillips Haridas Radhakrishnan
Board Member Board Member

Radhika Rajgopal Singh Elizabeth Mink
Board Member Alternate Member

Manisha N. Pagedar Ananya Gogula Alternate Member Youth Advisor

Maiya A. Krishna Youth Advisor

Notice is hereby given that the Library Advisory Board of the City of Coppell, Texas, met in the 2nd Floor Conference Room at 255 E. Parkway Boulevard at 7 p.m.

Regular Session (Open to the Public)

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Board Member Martha Garber at 6:58 p.m.

Also present were Library Board Members Anne Diamond, Frank Gasparro, Carla Madrigal, Seth L. Phillips, Haridas Radhakrishnan, Radhika Rajgopal Singh; Alternate Board Members Elizabeth Mink and Manisha N. Pagedar; and Youth Advisors Ananya Gogula and Maiya A. Krishna.

Staff in attendance were Library Manager Alexis Wellborn; City Secretary Ashley Owens; and Administrative Services Coordinator Laurie Arnold.

2. Citizen's Appearance

None.

3. Training Overview with City Staff

City Secretary Ashley Owens reviewed the Texas Open Meetings Act (OPM) and the Public Information Act (PIA) with the Library Advisory Board.

All items discussed during Library Advisory Board meetings must be posted agenda items. The agenda is posted no later than 72 hours prior to the meeting. It is important to always be transparent to the public regarding what is being discussed during meetings.

OPM and PIA training is not required annually. The City Secretary will ask Board Members to attend training when required updates have taken place.

4. Election of Officers

Board Member Frank Gasparro nominated Board Member Carla Madrigal as Library Board Chair. Board Member Carla Madrigal accepted the nomination. Board Member Anne Diamond seconded the nomination. The nomination carried by unanimous vote.

Board Member Martha Garber nominated Board Member Haridas
Radhakrishnan as Vice Chair. Board Member Haridas Radhakrishnan declined
the nomination. Board Chair Carla Madrigal nominated Alternate Member
Elizabeth Mink as Vice Chair. Alternate Member Elizabeth Mink declined due
to her position as an Alternate. Board Member Martha Garber nominated
Board Member Anne Diamond as Vice Chair. Board Member Anne Diamond
accepted the nomination. Board Chair Carla Madrigal seconded the
nomination. The nomination carried by unanimous vote.

Approval of Minutes from December 12, 2024

Board Vice Chair Anne Diamond moved to approve the Minutes from December 12, 2024 as presented. Board Member Haridas Radhakrishnan seconded the motion. The motion carried by unanimous vote.

Discuss Procedures for Library Board Document Review

Library Manager Alexis Wellborn reviewed the procedures for Library Board document review.

When a document is scheduled for review by the Library Advisory Board, it will be sent to the Board with the agenda on the Monday before the meeting. The board will discuss and make suggestions as needed. The Recording Secretary and Library Manager will note the suggestions and forward the document to the City Attorney for further review and compliance with City and Community Experiences guidelines.

The final document will be reviewed with the Library Advisory Board noting all changes that have occurred.

5.

7.	Friends of the Coppell Public Library Report
	Board Member Frank Gasparro explained the function of the Friends of the Coppell Public Library, the non-profit that supports Cozby Library and Community Commons.
	The first Library Giving Day will be held on April 1, 2025.
	Friends meetings are held in the Library on the fourth Monday of the month at 7 p.m. The Friends Annual Meeting, at which officers are elected, will be held on May 19, 2025 at 6:30 p.m.
3.	Adjournment
	There being no further business before the Library Advisory Board, the meeting was adjourned at 7:42.
Carla N	ladrigal, Library Board Chair
ATTES	Т:

Laurie A. Arnold, Administrative Services Coordinator