

Minutes

Economic Development Committee

Wednesday, January 4, 20	17	6:00 PM	255 Parkway Blvd.
WILLIAM ROH CHAIR	LOFF	DON CARROLL VICE CHAIR	-
SUE BIRD		RAVI CHIVUKU	LA
MAGGIE LUC	AS	DAVID NOVI	
MANIKANDAN	RAVEENDRAN	AARON STRAA	СН
JEFF VARNEL	L		
-	-	ic Development Committe or Conference Room at 25	-
be convened into	o closed Executive Ses	the Texas Government Co sion for the purpose of se any agenda item listed her	eking confidential
The purpose of t	his meeting is to consi	der the following items:	
Regular Session	(Open to the Public)		
1. Call To Order			
	Economic Developm at 6:05 p.m.	ent Coordinator Mindi Hurley	/ called the meeting to order
		on Carroll, Maggie Lucas, Da traach and Jeff Varnell.	vid Novi, Mani Raveendran,
	Absent: Ravi Chivuk	ula.	

Gayle Westapher, Mindi Hurley, Economic Development Coordinator, and Ashley Owens, Recording Secretary, were also present.

Presentation by Dallas Area Rapid Transit.

Gary Thomas spoke before the committee regarding DART and the Cottonbelt

2.

6.

7.

8.

9.

Corridor.

3.	Introduction of Committee Members.		
	Committee members introduced themselves and welcomed the new member.		
4.	Election of Officers.		
	Don Carroll was nominated for the position of Chairperson. Motion by Bill Rohloff, seconded by Jeff Varnell to elect Don Carroll as the Chairperson. AYE: All. The motion was passed by unanimous vote.		
	Aye: 7 - Sue Bird, Maggie Lucas, David Novi, Mani Raveendran, Bill Rohloff, Aaron Straach and Jeff Varnell.		
	Aaron Straach was nominated for the position of Vice Chairperson. Motion by Jeff Varnell, seconded by Bill Rohloff to elect Aaron Straach as the Vice Chairperson. Aye: All. The motion passed by unanimous vote.		
	Aye: 7 - Sue Bird, Don Carroll, Maggie Lucas, David Novi, Mani Raveendran, Bill Rohloff and Jeff Varnell.		
5.	Approval of Minutes: December 7, 2016.		
	A motion was made by Jeff Varnell, seconded by Maggie Lucas to approve the Minutes of December 7, 2016. The motion was passed by unanimous vote.		
	Aye: 7 - Sue Bird, Don Carroll, Maggie Lucas, David Novi, Mani Raveendran, Bill Rohloff, Aaron Straach and Jeff Varnell.		
6.	Discuss Role and Responsibilities of Committee Members.		
	Mindi will meet individually with new members to discuss the roles and responsibilities of committee members.		
7.	Election of Coppell Economic Development Foundation, Inc. Members.		
	The Economic Development Foundation requires at least 5 members from the committee to be on the Foundation. Preferably, a member would need to have at least a year of being on the committee. Normally, there is one meeting held for the Foundation members at the beginning of the year.		
	Jeff Varnell, Aaron Straach, Don Carroll, Sue Bird and Maggie Lucas volunteered to be on the Coppell Economic Development Foundation.		
	Mindi will send out an email regarding the upcoming meeting date.		
8.	Discuss Coppell Outlook 2017.		
	The date for Coppell Outlook 2017 has been set for February 15 starting at 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. The presentation will be discussed at the February meeting.		
9.	General discussion and update on commercial and industrial projects.		
City of Coppell, Texas	Page 2		

The next meeting will be held on February 1, 2016.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Economic Development Commitee, Chairperson Don Carroll adjourned the meeting at 7:40 p.m.