

City of Coppell, Texas

255 Parkway Boulevard Coppell, Texas 75019-9478

Minutes

Economic Development Committee

Wednesday, January 4, 2017 6:00 PM 255 Parkway Blvd.

WILLIAM ROHLOFF DON CARROLL

CHAIR VICE CHAIR

SUE BIRD RAVI CHIVUKULA

MAGGIE LUCAS DAVID NOVI

MANIKANDAN RAVEENDRAN AARON STRAACH

JEFF VARNELL

Notice is hereby given that the Economic Development Committee of the City of Coppell, Texas, will meet in the 2nd Floor Conference Room at 255 E. Parkway Boulevard.

As authorized by Section 551.071(2) of the Texas Government Code, this meeting may be convened into closed Executive Session for the purpose of seeking confidential legal advice from the City Attorney on any agenda item listed herein.

The purpose of this meeting is to consider the following items:

Regular Session (Open to the Public)

1. Call To Order

Economic Development Coordinator Mindi Hurley called the meeting to order at 6:05 p.m.

Present: Sue Bird, Don Carroll, Maggie Lucas, David Novi, Mani Raveendran, Bill Rohloff, Aaron Straach and Jeff Varnell.

Absent: Ravi Chivukula.

Gayle Westapher, Mindi Hurley, Economic Development Coordinator, and Ashley Owens, Recording Secretary, were also present.

Presentation by Dallas Area Rapid Transit.

Gary Thomas spoke before the committee regarding DART and the Cottonbelt

Corridor.

3. Introduction of Committee Members.

Committee members introduced themselves and welcomed the new member.

4. Election of Officers.

Don Carroll was nominated for the position of Chairperson. Motion by Bill Rohloff, seconded by Jeff Varnell to elect Don Carroll as the Chairperson. AYE: All. The motion was passed by unanimous vote.

Aye: 7 - Sue Bird, Maggie Lucas, David Novi, Mani Raveendran, Bill Rohloff, Aaron Straach and Jeff Varnell.

Aaron Straach was nominated for the position of Vice Chairperson. Motion by Jeff Varnell, seconded by Bill Rohloff to elect Aaron Straach as the Vice Chairperson. Aye: All. The motion passed by unanimous vote.

Aye: 7 - Sue Bird, Don Carroll, Maggie Lucas, David Novi, Mani Raveendran, Bill Rohloff and Jeff Varnell.

5. Approval of Minutes: December 7, 2016.

A motion was made by Jeff Varnell, seconded by Maggie Lucas to approve the Minutes of December 7, 2016. The motion was passed by unanimous vote.

Aye: 8- Sue Bird, Don Carroll, Ravi Chivukula, Maggie Lucas, David Novi, Mani Raveendran, Aaron Straach and Jeff Varnell..

6. Discuss Role and Responsibilities of Committee Members.

Mindi will meet individually with new members to discuss the roles and responsibilities of committee members.

 Election of Coppell Economic Development Foundation, Inc. Members.

The Economic Development Foundation requires at least 5 members from the committee to be on the Foundation. Preferably, a member would need to have at least a year of being on the committee. Normally, there is one meeting held for the Foundation members at the beginning of the year.

Jeff Varnell, Aaron Straach, Don Carroll, Sue Bird and Maggie Lucas volunteered to be on the Coppell Economic Development Foundation.

Mindi will send out an email regarding the upcoming meeting date.

8. Discuss Coppell Outlook 2017.

The date for Coppell Outlook 2017 has been set for February 15 starting at 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. The presentation will be discussed at the February meeting.

General discussion and update on commercial and industrial projects.

9.

The next meeting will be held on February 1, 2016.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Economic Development Commitee, Chairperson Don Carroll adjourned the meeting at 7:40 p.m.